Georgia Auto Insurance Laws and Georgia Car Insurance Requirements
Georgia auto insurance laws have been instituted and rigorously enforced in order to ensure the safety of all road users in the state. To this end, the state requires all drivers to carry mandatory minimum liability coverage. The state authorities in Georgia also maintain an electronic database containing the records of all drivers' current, valid insurance policies. When these records are allowed to lapse, drivers can face a fine and potential suspension of their registration.
The stipulations of Georgia auto insurance requirements allow for drivers to obtain other proof of financial liability rather than a standard insurance policy. The Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner can allow drivers to self insure. Whether you self insure or acquire a standard policy, your coverage will need to be registered with the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System.
Under Georgia auto insurance laws, the minimum liability coverage includes $ 25,000 for injury or death of one accident victim, $ 50,000 for injury or death of more than one individual and $ 25,000 for damage to property. Drivers with an outstanding auto note or lease are required by state law to carry more than the minimum required liability coverage. In most cases, the lien holder or leasing company will set its own minimum limit for coverage to offset any financial losses on the loan.
There are exemptions to the auto insurance requirements. They include people in the military and individuals with a vehicle that has been sold, stored or salvaged. If you fall under any of these categories, you should check with the state authorities and make sure you file a suitable affidavit in order to avoid receiving penalties.
Proof of insurance must be provided according to Georgia auto insurance requirements when you register your vehicle, if you are dropped over for a traffic stop or at the scene of an accident. Drivers found operating their vehicles without proper insurance are liable to face a maximum fine of $ 1,000 and up to a year of jail time.
Drivers can also incur penalies when lapses in coverage are detected by the electronic database. A lapse is considered as 10 consecutive days without coverage. Any individual found to have allowed their insurance to lapse will be charged a $ 25 lapse fee and have their registration suspended. A $ 60 reinstatement fee will be required to get the registration reactivated.
Under Georgia auto insurance laws, fines and other penalties increase for residual lapses. A second lapse within five years carries a mandatory 90 day registration suspension. A third lapse within five years will incur a $ 160 registration fee in addition to the $ 25 lapse fee; as well as a six month registration suspension.
The state of Georgia regards enforcement of auto insurance extremely seriously. The state wants to keep all of its roads safe and there requires all drivers to take appropriate measures to cover any and all eventualities. As a driver, make sure that you have proper insurance coverage in order to make your driving experience in Georgia a safe and pleasant one!
Source : https://ezinearticles.com/?Georgia-Auto-Insurance-Laws-and-Georgia-Car-Insurance-Requirements&id=6293189